Thursday 11 April 2013

Your Guide to the QIPCO 2000 Guineas 2013 Festival

Following on from the Craven Meeting (17th - 18th April) Newmarket's Rowley Mile looks forward to Classic race action:

QUIPCO Guineas Festival 

Saturday 4th May - QIPCO 2000 Guineas Day

This prestigious Group 1 race is open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts & fillies racing over a mile. It is one of Britain's five Classic races. The 2000 Guineas has a rich history with many outstanding horses. Who could forget Sir Henry Cecil's Frankel (2011), arguably the greatest horse of this modern era. However, this race was inaugurated in 1809, won by a colt named Wizard, trained by Tom Perren. 


Leading jockey: Jem Robinson who won the race 9 times. Don't remember him? Not too surprising as he successes came in the period of 1825 - 1848. Since 2000, Keiren Fallon has won four times.       

Leading trainer: Historically Jeremy Scott has 7 wins in a twenty year period (1842 - 1862). Since 1998, Aidan O'Brien has won the race six times with top class horses such as: George Washington, Henrythenavigator & Camelot. 


Mister Baileys (1994) holds the record for the fastest time (1:35.08). The widest margin winner since 1900 was Tudor Minstrel (1947) by 8 lengths. The longest priced winner was a 66/1 shot named Rockavon (1961). The most runners were seen in 1930 with 28 runners, while in in 1829-30 there were only 2 runners. 

2013 Betting 

If the betting is to be believed, this year's contest is all about one horse - Dawn Approach - who is presently 11/8 favourite. Jim Bolger's son of New Approach won the Coventry Group 2 at Royal Ascot and Dewhurst Stakes Group 1. He is European Champion Two-Year-Old Colt 2012.

Other contenders include: Toronado, Mars, Cristoforo Colombo, Garswood...      

Sunday 5th May - QIPCO 1000 Guineas Day

Open to three-year-old thoroughbred fillies. This one mile contest follows the 2000 Guineas Stakes. The 1000 Guineas was inaugurated in 1814 won by Charlotte, trained by Tom Perren. This race has been won by some of the most talented horses in the world. 


Leading jockey: Historically George Fordham has 7 wins from 1859 - 1883.  

Leading trainer: Robert Robson may not be a name modern race fans remember but he was a legend in the early seventeen hundreds. In fact, from 1818 - 1827 he won every race bar 1926. 


  • Fastest winning time – Ghanaati (2009), 1m 34.22s
  • Widest winning margin – Mayonaise (1859), 20 lengths
  • Longest odds winner – Ferry (1918), 50/1
  • Shortest odds winner – Crucifix (1840), 1/10
  • Most runners – 29, in 1926
  • Fewest runners – 1 (a walkover), in 1825
2013 Betting

This years contest is a competitive affair. Just The Judge, What A Name, while Sir Henry Cecil's Snap Shot is favourite.

I originally had an ante-post bet on Certify - very annoying considering it was with Betfair. I am going to have a decent bet on Hot Snap. I think this is a class horse and think we will be looking at an impressive win.

Other runners include: Moth, Big Break, Sky Lantern, Flotilla & Rosdhu Queen...

Enjoy a day at the races

Packed grandstands, dressed-to-impress race-goers and sport that will make your heart thump: that’s why the QIPCO Guineas Festival is a seriously special party, and this year it will be even bigger than ever as we celebrate the 200th running of the 1000 Guineas, one of British racing's five 'Classics'.

The historic QIPCO 1000 Guineas (Sun, May 5) and the QIPCO 2000 Guineas (Sat, May 4) will see Europe's finest racehorses going head-to-head on the first weekend over the Rowley Mile.

These races are part of the elite British Champions Series (staged through the season at England’s major meetings) from which champions emerge - not least Frankel, the amazing winner of the 2011 renewal of the QIPCO 2000 Guineas. Who will be the stars of this year’s show?
But the stunning racing is not the only reason why the Rowley Mile feels highly charged on QIPCO Guineas Festival Weekend. Feel the rush at our high-octane showdown as we celebrate our heritage, while living for the moment.

For all the latest trainer news visit Horse Trainer Directory